The Sewing Place

Ideas for a complete novice

Tawny75

Ideas for a complete novice
« on: May 22, 2017, 15:11:21 PM »
Dear all

I can happily sew quilt blocks and patchwork and do basic FMQ but I have not attempted any clothes since I made some skirts with my mum about 30 odd years ago.

I am a larger lady (size 22) and I would like to attempt to make some tops/tunic type things for myself.  Do you have any suggestions of patterns etc for a novice dressmaker but not novice sewer if you see what I mean.

Thank you muchly in advance

Acorn

Re: Ideas for a complete novice
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2017, 15:19:43 PM »
Style Arc.

The patterns are great, the fit is easy to adapt (but actually pretty good without, for me at least).  I have to admit that the instructions are not greatly detailed, but I'm not sure that would be a problem for you.  If you sign up for their newsletter you will get a free pattern.  Although this is for trousers, it would give you an example of the instruction style.  Scroll down on their home page and the subscription box is on the left.
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

Francesca

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2017, 15:35:46 PM »
I have just completed two cotton lawn tunics from Simplicity 1461 which I can highly recommend. It comes with multiple cup sizes to choose from.

I made the View D which is the most simple. I am now working on the View E.

Cotton lawn is a great beginner fabric. Works well for this style of tunic, presses easily, handles easily.

You could make one and finish the seams with a zig zag, then try french seams for the second.

Here it is on me, I'm a 24. It's slightly the wrong size for me (shoulder-wise) but I'm still happy.

Here it is on my Mum who is a size 24. The first version used the C-cup. I went up to the D cup for the second one. I also capped the sleeves on the second one as I felt there was too much poof in the first sleeve:

BrendaP

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2017, 15:58:48 PM »