The Sewing Place

What is a toile?

b15erk

What is a toile?
« on: June 02, 2017, 09:05:26 AM »
Firstly, this isn't a tutorial, but more like a gathering of ideas.  I wasn't sure which category it fitted in, so Mods, feel free to move it.

I must point out that I am self-taught, and as such, my teacher is often mis-informed.  This post is simply my ideas of the uses of a Toile/Muslin.

A Toile

This is something I came across late in my sewing life, and thought unnecessary and time consuming for a long, long time.

However, when I started to want better fitted and finished garments, the need for a toile became apparent.  I didn't call it that, wouldn't even recognise it as a toile, but that's what it was.  Essentially, for me, it is a practice garment, either full or partial, to test techniques, fit, and style.

When I sew directly from the packet, I have no real idea of how the garment will look on me.  There is usually only a stick insect model, or line drawings to inform me, maybe a few notes, hidden away in the tissue.

So, sometimes a Toile is used as a fitting tool.  This is great, because you then make your alterations on it, and use it as your pattern. For complex garments I believe several Toiles are sometimes made.

Then, the partial Toile.  I use this when there is a tricky bit to master eg shirt cuff, collar, placket.  In this case, I wouldn't do a full Toile, just the relevant bit.  It also gives me chance to try the techniques recommended on the pattern, against techniques I have tried before, and I think may work better.

Finally, the Wearable Toile.  I may do one of these if I'm relatively confident that the pattern is OK, but I don't yet want to commit the final fabric to.  Many Wearable Toiles have turned out to be equally as nice as the intended garment.  Some have been consigned to Toile heaven.....