The Sewing Place

Newbie query!

JM2017

Newbie query!
« on: August 09, 2017, 20:49:36 PM »
Hi all,
Newbie here! I'm currently on maternity to leave and am hoping to steal away some time and dabble in some curtain making, etc. That is of course if my bubba allows it! Today she has had other ideas  -<
Hoping you can help this novice here with a curtain measurement query I have re a pair of curtains I'm wishing to 'hack'. I recently bought a pair of plain blackout eyelet curtains, each panel measures 168cm wide with a 183cm drop. Now that they are hung they are rather drab looking so I want to liven them up. To this end I'm thinking of retaining approx 20cm of the plain fabric at the top of each panel to include the eyelets and unpick & cut away the remaining plain fabric & replace with a nice geometric patterned fabric I have found. I'm going to retain all the blackout lining. So my question is how many metres/yards of the patterned fabric  would I need? FYI the patterned fabric is 137cm wide, 64cm vertical pattern repeat & 68.6cm horizontal pattern repeat.
Many thanks in advance!

maliw

Re: Newbie query!
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2017, 21:31:48 PM »
Hello and welcome to the forum. Sorry I can't help with the curtains, I make all mine but have awful problems when it comes to pattern repeats. Is the fabric in a 'bricks and mortar shop' or online? If in a shop then I would ask the staff there  as they should be able to tell  you exactly what you need, if online then sorry I'm no good. Hopefully someone else will be along and be able to help. Congratulations on the little one.
At leisure on the leisure penninsula

JM2017

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2017, 22:11:44 PM »
Thanks for your reply. The fabric is online. Yes I'm the same when it comes to pattern repeats!

BrendaP

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2017, 22:12:03 PM »