The Sewing Place

Advice please

Lizzielogs

Advice please
« on: August 17, 2017, 19:17:21 PM »
I have decided I might like an embroidery machine which is capable of embroidering letters (words/ names) on things but am on the fence as I think I would only use it occasionally and am worried that a cheap one off eBay would be false economy. I have been prompted to think more seriously about it as I enquired locally for someone to put a name on apiece of fabric and they quoted me £5 + VAT.
I assume not all embroidery machines do lettering??
Does anyone have thoughts on makes or prices I should consider.
Thank you
I saw this and was tempted!
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Husqvarna-Viking-1090-Sewing-Embroidery-Machine-with-Accessories-Foot-Pedal-/332338542275?hash=item4d60ebb6c3:g:NtwAAOSwQoVZgLHt

Bodgeitandscarper

Re: Advice please
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2017, 08:55:16 AM »
I have no experience of anything but my Janome 350e, but something to think about maybe that with mine and the appropriate software on the computer, I can programme a whole word and it stitches it in one go, and it's lined up and well spaced.  With that sort of machine it would be selecting one latter after another, which I don't really know how well it'd line up and space the letters?  On the other hand, it's very cheap compared to an embroidery machine - and there is a "Make an Offer" button, I've made offers and negotiated a few times on ebay.

b15erk

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2017, 09:21:51 AM »
Like B&S, I only have experience of my Pfaff 1475cd, which although it does embroider all kinds of patterns and letters, is limited to what is pre-programmed.  Although it does have a memory, and I'm able to embroider names etc.  The drawback is that the quality on some of the letter styles is iffy, and the sizes are a bit small.  I can do monograms, but again, not found them very successful.

I think maybe a bit of research before you buy, and try to arrange to try the machine out.