The Sewing Place

Sleeve fitting

charlotte

Sleeve fitting
« on: August 21, 2017, 12:29:35 PM »
This is my first time sewing/wearing a woven dress with long sleeves!

They are bridesmaids' dresses for a friend's wedding. Myself and Maid of Honour (also a close friend) tried on our toiles and we both felt the restriction of arm movement.

My question is - is it normal? We agreed that we had enough movement to use our knives and forks and for slightly restrained dancing (no YMCA).

I am looking into adding a cut on gusset but I think it will change the lines of the dress so they won't look quite as neat, so I am inclined to live with the slightly restricted range of motion. Would a cut-on gusset make enough of a difference to justify the style compromise? Is there a more obvious fix I am missing? Is this just the sacrifice you make for a woven dress with long sleeves?

Ohsewsimple

Re: Sleeve fitting
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2017, 13:28:05 PM »
What is the patterns?  Have you made toile So?  If so piccies would help.  But I would say that the fit is off if you have that much reduced movement. 

charlotte

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2017, 14:01:48 PM »
The pattern is New Look 6508 View A.

I have lengthened the sleeves as Bride to Be wants three quarter sleeves. I assume this is part of the problem. I can't mess around with the shape of the sleeve too much as the fabric is both sheer and directional.

I just cannot get my head around how to have sleeves on a fitted woven dress and still be able to move your arms!

tumblina

« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2017, 14:12:46 PM »
Check the armholes: high armholes that hug the body will allow for more movement than low wide ones.

Ploshkin

« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2017, 15:28:20 PM »
I'm sure lurking on here is Kenneth King's video - How to Fit Sleeves the Hip Hop Way (sounds weird but it's not)
Anyway it isn't amongst the tutorials so I found it and here it is if you are interested