The Sewing Place

The Rant Thread

Efemera

Re: The Rant Thread
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2017, 12:58:57 PM »
How things have changed... I worked as a window dresser, I started in the late 60s, we had floor walkers and woe betide you if you weren't behind your counter ready to serve customers...talking wasn't permitted and elder sales people were addressed by their second names... we window dressers were lucky we got to wander around... it's not being acknowledged that bugs me.. if they're busy it only takes a moment to say I'll be with you shortly.

Francesca

« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2017, 13:10:25 PM »
How things have changed... I worked as a window dresser, I started in the late 60s, we had floor walkers and woe betide you if you weren't behind your counter ready to serve customers...talking wasn't permitted and elder sales people were addressed by their second names... we window dressers were lucky we got to wander around... it's not being acknowledged that bugs me.. if they're busy it only takes a moment to say I'll be with you shortly.

I do think some of it has to do with the reduction in jobs in a shop. Seems like they used to employ a lot more people for specific tasks. I worked in Clarks as a teenager and we were to be serving customers by getting their shoes from the back room, fitting them, working the till, getting in and unpacking deliveries all at the same time. And then half an hour before closing we would have to be cleaning the shop down (hoover, dust shelves, clean mirrors and seats daily) all whilst still doing all of the above. I'd often be on my knees scrubbing a floor and get a grumpy customer "excuse me!" from the till where they wanted to buy something, or wanted a shoe in a different size. But it's hard to be all-ears when you're doing a million things at once! The worst was when they clicked their fingers at me. I just used to walk away then.

shadykittykat

« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2017, 14:01:47 PM »