The Sewing Place

Sewing newbie

Merfreak

Sewing newbie
« on: April 19, 2017, 21:46:44 PM »
Hi all! As the title says I'm new to sewing, I have yet to buy my first machine, but I'm very eager to learn and let out my creativity.  :D

Even though I'm in my mid 20s I just recently got into fashion and would love to be able to make my own clothes some day (not every single piece but a couple of tops, pants, skirts and dresses would be awesome... I know I'm getting way ahead of myself here, oops  :D).

I look forward to exploring this forum and learning something new. Thanks for having me.  :)

Lilian

Re: Sewing newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 22:42:15 PM »
Hi Merfreak and welcome  :D  I'm sure you will get all the help and advise you need.  Explore and find your niche  :D
Willing but not always able :)

BrendaP

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2017, 23:38:15 PM »
Welcome to the forum :D and keep us updated on your progress.
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

DementedFairy

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 05:38:26 AM »
I know I'm getting way ahead of myself here, oops  :D).

Not at all- get that machine [a very basic one is fine, I have never had a fancy machine, make ALL my clothes [apart from bras cos I can't be bothered] and have never had a lesson in my life.  Buy a pattern, follow the instructions, ask advice here when you're stuck.  Couldn't be simpler!

Forget all that nonsense about starting with aprons/pillowcases etc, make something interesting- you'll learn more, and faster!
C'est moi!

Merfreak

« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 07:53:47 AM »
Thank you all for the warm welcome.  :D Thank you for your advice DementedFairy; this forum is pretty amazing, can't wait to get started. :)

UttaRetch