The Sewing Place

Completely new and a novice

Emma2109

Completely new and a novice
« on: April 22, 2017, 19:44:03 PM »
Hi

I am completely new to sewing forums and to sewing!!!....I took needlework as an O Level at school (an indication of my age)...I have wanted a sewing machine for years and finally got one for a christmas present four months ago...I absolutely love it...I started with square cushions and have made skirts, roman blinds, dresses, vintage aprons and an Evel Knievel costume (don't ask)...I usually work full time in a very stressful job, however, I have been off work on sick leave for 5 months (complications from an operation)and have used sewing as my therapy....it relaxes me and gives me a purpose and focus.....

Anyway, enough about me...how did you all get into sewing...

Love and hugs. Xxx

maliw

Re: Completely new and a novice
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2017, 20:31:29 PM »
Hello and welcome to the forum, you will soon feel at home here. If you need any help or advice just ask - we don't bite. I too found sewing therapeutic while going through a very stressful time at work, that is when I took up patchwork and quilting. I've been sewing since about the age of eleven/twelve although my mum taught me a bit on her treadle machine a few years earlier (showing my age too) ;)
At leisure on the leisure penninsula

shadykittykat

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2017, 20:44:51 PM »
Welcome to the forum Emma  :)

I didn't really have sewing lessons at school, I just decided one day I fancied sewing so I did. Not very well or very quickly, but I enjoy it!
Kate
Running, sewing, eating

Ploshkin

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2017, 22:35:21 PM »
Welcome Emma.  I sewed from the age of 5 up until my mid thirties.  Then after a 20 year break doing very little I got back into sewing whilst off work for 5 months after complications with an operation (sound familiar).  I had always done dressmaking previously but am now finding my feet with p&q which is quite addictive.