The Sewing Place

Sewing for children/babies

elisep

Sewing for children/babies
« on: May 15, 2020, 03:58:08 AM »
Not sure if this belongs here or patterns discussion, feel free to move if I'm in the wrong place!

A friend of mine has just announced her pregnancy, she's due in October. Normally for friends I gift a handmade quilt, or my mum's specialty of bibs and muslin wraps.
I'm not really feeling in the mood to make a quilt at the moment, though I might change my mind between now and then! So I'm thinking it might be nice to have a go at something I've never done before, which is children's clothing.
She hasn't announced the gender of the baby yet, I am fairly sure she plans to. If she doesn't, I may just have to go with a gender-neutral quilt.

Well, as a childless person who is not really into babies, I'm not quite sure whether clothing is something I can gift at a baby shower (or birth if she doesn't have a shower). What I was thinking of what a couple of little dresses or even dress/bloomer sets if it's a girl, perhaps some overalls for a boy?
I think most babies these days are put in onesies when they are newborn, but not really sure what mums like to put babies in once they're a little older?
Would I be better off waiting till baby's first birthday and gifting clothing at that stage?
I'd also love to make a little coat for the baby (only because I think they're flipping adorable), it would be 9 months old by the time winter rolled around, is that an appropriate age for a coat?

As you can see, I've no idea  :[

Also, feel free to suggest any recommendations for cute baby/children's patterns.
Stash Busting 2023
Used: 4 metres

Missie

Re: Sewing for children/babies
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2020, 09:52:49 AM »