The Sewing Place

1/4 inch stitch for Brother LS14

Arloony

1/4 inch stitch for Brother LS14
« on: May 21, 2020, 09:43:20 AM »
Good morning everyone,

I am a complete beginner to quilting and cannot wait to get starting :)
I hear a 1/4 inch stitch makes it easier to work with.
I purchased a 1/4 inch presser foot.

Does anyone know how to set up my Brother LS14 for it? Do I have to buy another adaptor?
I have been looking everywhere for this answer, I really hope you can help me. xx

Iminei

Re: 1/4 inch stitch for Brother LS14
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2020, 12:17:00 PM »

Hi there

Now you have your quarter inch foot you'll see it has a lil guide on the right hand side (as you look at it head on)

Place two pieces of fabric (we Darksiders use 100 % cotton most of the time, but not always  :devil:  )
Line up the edges  nicely together  ...
Sew a straight line of stitching, making sure the guide runs along the edge of the fabric.
Sew this line maybe 4 to 6 inches long ...
Cut your threads, remove the sewn fabrics ...
and taking an accurate tape measure or ruler measure the distance from the edge of the fabric to the line of stitching ...

It should measure 1/4".

Review of your machine
The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

Addiscomber

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2020, 13:34:03 PM »
Are you asking about setting the size of the sewn stitches to 1/4 inch? Because that would be way too long for most sewing. As Iminei has described the 1/4 inch refers to the seam allowance.

I'm not familiar with your particular machine but whatever default stitch length it does is probably fine for the majority of things that you will want to sew, unless you want some sort of special affect.

Iminei

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2020, 15:12:37 PM »
Most piecing stitches are set on the computerized machines at 1.8 or 2.