The Sewing Place

RUBYLOCK R-L5 TYPE 4 STRAND OVERLOCK SEWING MACHINE ATTACHMENT

dafyddcoch

I've just purchased a Rubylock R-L5 Type 4 strand overloclock attachment for my Jones CBD electric powered machine that I've fitted to an old Singer treadle table/bench. https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/264739439789  I'm a novice machine user (towels, curtains and repairs thus-far) and about to start making a kimono jacket for my wife), so it'll be likely ages before I am skilled enough to use it but I got it because it does effectively turn a straight stitch machine into an overlocker. It manages this by incorporating the stitch and cotton of the sewing machine with the thread and action of the overlocker.

Does anyone have any experience of such a contraption? Are they any good? I'll only want to use it now and again so the faff of setting it up isn't a problem and whilst I'm guessing it isn't made to be used all day every day, I'm hoping it'll be invaluable when I do need an overlocker.   

Also, how difficult is it to use an overlocker compared to a machine. I'm usually good with machinery generally, be it agricultural, building, engineering etc. and am happy to play for a while with scrap and learn if possible. Or is it as I suspect and I should store it for now and become more proficient with my machine first?

Thanks/diolch
 cadwch yn ddiogel/stay safe

KayK

Re: RUBYLOCK R-L5 TYPE 4 STRAND OVERLOCK SEWING MACHINE ATTACHMENT
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2020, 09:05:31 AM »
Wow!  That certainly is an interesting bit of kit - never heard of/seen one of those before, so would love to see it set up and working!