The Sewing Place

Purchasing A Second Hand Machine

geewizz00

Purchasing A Second Hand Machine
« on: July 20, 2020, 18:29:19 PM »
Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to sewing looking at a second hand Janome atelier 3 from ebay, which is out of warranty. It says"new condition" but an additional £190 can buy new with warranty - I'm wondering if it's worth the extra £190.

In particular, I would be interested to understand types of issues you've found with your machines and how much is a sensible amount to budget for repairs.

And would also be grateful for any advice when buying sewing machines from ebay?

Thanks in advance!

Ellabella

Re: Purchasing A Second Hand Machine
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2020, 18:46:16 PM »
For my money the extra money to get a new machine with a full warranty would be money well spent. 

You will get peace of mind and know if something does go wrong it will be sorted, providing you buy from a reputable dealer, there are some dealers you should avoid.

Buying a secondhand electronic machine is a very different proposition from buying an older mechanical machine that can be restored by a talented enthusiast. There are many people on here who have done wonderful restorations.

I would only buy a secondhand electronic machine if I knew it’s history.

Efemera

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2020, 18:49:19 PM »
I think it’s just a matter of pot luck. I don’t think I’d be paying that kind of money for a warranty ..Is it a business that’s selling?.. there’s a few dodgy sellers out there.

Esme866

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2020, 20:11:34 PM »
What kind of sewing are you doing and why are you looking for a machine?

If I were to buy a pricey electronic machine, new or used, I would only purchase from a nearby dealer - with an excellent reputation - that could provide the service I needed. I would also only buy it if I knew I would be able to afford any potential repairs. (New motherboard 18 months from now after the warranty expires?)