The Sewing Place

Hello from an absolute beginner!

rachel

Hello from an absolute beginner!
« on: August 08, 2020, 15:01:51 PM »
Hi all

Until March or April when I made my first cotton masks, I hadn't done any sewing since school days. I did them by hand and wished I had a sewing machine........

A few months later I now have my sewing maching and am taking my first tentative steps in this world. I am astounded by the generosity of people who are willing to share their expertise for free - whether on forums like this, tutorial videos, whatever and look forward to learning from all of you.

(And they promised me wine...  :toast: )

wrenkins

Re: Hello from an absolute beginner!
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2020, 15:05:44 PM »
 :toast: :cake: :drink: :gin:
Hello and welcome. Come in and make yourself at home. Someone breakout the Garibaldis.
What do fancy trying @rachel? Apparel, home, P&Quilting? We cater to all tastes and (some of us) have opinions on everything.  :)
Harbouring resentment is like swallowing poison and waiting for the other person to die!

UttaRetch

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2020, 15:21:24 PM »
Welcome @rachel.  I am sure we can help in due course.

rachel

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2020, 15:27:04 PM »

What do fancy trying @rachel? Apparel, home, P&Quilting? We cater to all tastes and (some of us) have opinions on everything.  :)
I'm hoping to be able to make clothes - have started with a simple shift dress pattern and will see how that goes

I'm also a crocheter. I have vague memories of my gran teaching me when I was young but then took it up again much later in life. Again, mainly clothes. I'm way more experienced (but not necessarily better!) with crochet than with sewing.

Lilian

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2020, 15:38:27 PM »
Hi @rachel welcome from me  :drink: :vintage:
Willing but not always able :)

maliw

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2020, 17:08:39 PM »
Hello and welcome, hope you enjoy being one of us.
At leisure on the leisure penninsula