The Sewing Place

Regent Academy Fashion Design and Dressmaking course.

JenHampson

Regent Academy Fashion Design and Dressmaking course.
« on: August 19, 2022, 10:16:04 AM »
Good morning,  :D

I am new to this lovely group and wanted at ask if anyone has completed or going through the Regent academy Fashion design course? I am thinking about doing it, but want to ensure its worth the cost and the accreditation is useful.
Any advice very welcome  :rolleyes:

Iminei

Re: Regent Academy Fashion Design and Dressmaking course.
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2022, 10:31:36 AM »
Welcome to TSP... Im sure there will be someone along shortly with answers to your questions ...
The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

Kad

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2022, 10:42:58 AM »
I'd never heard of the place/course, but I would ask
 -  what level is the course that you study ?
-  who is the awarding body?

Without this information you could not be sure that the courses are recognised by another provider. It does state that you need to complete both courses 1&2 to enroll on a C&G course, but that doesn't determine the level of these courses.

The British Fashion Design academy for instance has courses that are fully accredited and at specific levels :
BTEC diploma equivalent to 3 A-level and BTEC certificate equivalent to 2 A-level
They are, however, considerably more expensive.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2022, 10:49:00 AM by Kad »
'Jill' of many aspects of sewing, "Mistress" of few.

WildAtlanticWay

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2022, 11:13:11 AM »
Hi Jen,

What is your current level of sewing experience and what do you hope to achieve from the course?