The Sewing Place

Hi from a total novice looking for some advice! :)

palmyday

Hi from a total novice looking for some advice! :)
« on: October 03, 2020, 11:16:09 AM »
Hi all,
Thanks for letting me join!!
I recently acquired a Pfaff Creative 1471 and am looking to use the font sewing functions, is there any way to enlarge the font. Currently it sews a letter approx 8mm tall, I would like to sew around 20mm tall, does anyone know if that is that possible?
Regards,
Dave - the novice

Iminei

Re: Hi from a total novice looking for some advice! :)
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2020, 11:30:40 AM »
I dont know about your machine .. If its just a sewing machine the limit to size will be the span of the needle ... Ie the widest zig zag it could do will be the tallest letter.

The Splurgess (My Janome Atelier 7) has a 9mm width.

If however you were using an embroidery machine then yes you can enlarge and decrease designs by a percentage (I think on Elvistoo its about 20%)

Would you like me to move this topic to a properly dedicated area ??
The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

Ohsewsimple

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2020, 12:12:54 PM »
Like @Iminei says you need an embroidery machine for that.  The Pfaff 1471 was a nice machine but not capable of doing what you want.

palmyday

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2020, 19:10:46 PM »
Like @Iminei says you need an embroidery machine for that.  The Pfaff 1471 was a nice machine but not capable of doing what you want.

Oh well, many thanks for the replies guys, guess I'll just have to keep an eye out for another machine! :/
Any suggestions, need something to sew heavy fabrics and leather as well as embroider lettering and borders. :)

Efemera

« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2020, 19:24:25 PM »
Don’t think you’ll get both in the same machine. A vintage Singer straight stitch will stitch through almost anything. For embroidery there’s Janome, Brother, Pfaff to name a few.

Lilian

« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2020, 19:29:09 PM »