The Sewing Place

Overlocker recommendations

Andreas

Overlocker recommendations
« on: November 08, 2020, 23:29:09 PM »
Hi,
I have been sewing for a few years and have been eyeing up overlockers for almost as long.
I now think I have done enough sewing on my regular machine to justify treating myself to an overlocker.
Having never used one, I find it quite daunting. Last time I considered getting one, I was looking at the Juki MO-114D, which now seems to have been replaced with the MO-214D. My second contender is the Brother  4234D.
The Juki is at the top end of my budget of around £600.

To start with I'll mainly be using it for stretch, knits and finishing but I hope this machine will be with me for many years as I learn more.
It's important to me that the machine is reliable and can last a long time. Being a complete overlocker newbie, I'd like it to be relatively easy to set up and maintain.
One thing I worry slightly about is speed control. My pace is fairly pedestrian and on my Janome sewing machine I love that I can reduce the max speed.  This kind of control doesn't seem to be on either machine. This is fine as long as it is easy to maintain slow speeds while I build confidence.

Ideally I'd like to have taken them for a test spin, but in these lockdown times that is not possible.

If anyone has had experience with either of these machines, I'd very much appreciate your input.

Thanks,
Andreas

BrendaP

Re: Overlocker recommendations
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2020, 00:01:28 AM »
I've not used either of those machines, but personally I would go for Juki rather than Brother.  If my regular (non vintage) machine were to die I would be looking at Juki or Bernina.