The Sewing Place

Lidl sewing machine £69

Maughanorama

Lidl sewing machine £69
« on: January 24, 2021, 14:15:49 PM »
Hi all

I just would like to know if anyone has experience with the lidl sewing machine? It looks basic but im not after anything more than straight,zigzag,hem stitch at the moment. My machine is a second hand old fif nm800 which is does have loads of stitches and works ok but is having tension issues

Acorn

Re: Lidl sewing machine £69
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2021, 14:59:21 PM »
I have no personal experience, but I think in general people have found that it's pot luck with Lidl sewing machines and overlockers.  You may be fine, but you're pretty much equally as likely to find that you have something that drives you around the bend and becomes little more than a useless bundle of parts in a fairly short time.
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

Gernella

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2021, 15:02:42 PM »
Is it this one:

https://www.lidl.co.uk/en/p/crafts-hobbies/carina-sewing-machine/p39564

They are offering a 3 year guarantee so they must have every confidence in it.  Also it has quite a lot of stitches for a low cost machine.

Probably won't be as heavy as your other machine, a German brand.
Stash extension 2024- 6.1 meters
Left at the end of 2023 - 66 meters now (includes fabric found hidden out of sight)  Lining fabric not included

Maughanorama

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2021, 15:15:34 PM »
Im just thinking of getting another as my old one is whilst it works is having top tension issues randomly.
Seems that it'll do a stitch fine as soon as I add a nother layer like a zip the top thread bundles up underneath.. I suppose I should service it

Helen M

« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2021, 15:18:04 PM »
Im just thinking of getting another as my old one is whilst it works is having top tension issues randomly.