The Sewing Place

Stuck on easy pattern cutting layout

Arloony

Stuck on easy pattern cutting layout
« on: April 15, 2021, 11:36:59 AM »
Hello,

I am rather new to sewing (1 year old) but practiced more on quilting, making small pouch bags, buntings, etc…and never made clothes before.

I have started a sewing course from Centre of Excellence….have any of you beginners completed that course before?

As part of the course….I purchased my first easy pattern for bottom PJs (Simplicity 6859, I am making photo A).
And already I am stuck!! Lol….

I don’t understand how to fold the fabric to lie down the pattern on?

Selvage on the top and bottom…with a double thickness…..
Does that mean the fabric is folded along the length side of the fabric as supposed to the width??   [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

Also...what is the "nap"

I appreciate your help in advance :)

many thanks
Arlene :sew:

toileandtrouble

Re: Stuck on easy pattern cutting layout
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2021, 11:57:06 AM »
@Arloony The nap is the sort of 'pile' on the fabric. If you stroke it one way and then the other, you might feel it. Direction affects the way the colour shows sometimes.  Some things like cotton don't have one, but the pattern may also affect the way you cut it so think of pattern as a sort of nap. 
If you fold a length of fabric in half, top to bottom, one side will face up and the other down. That is why they have shown it cut into 2 separate pieces, so that the pattern/nap will face the same way on both.
Make sure you put right sides together as well, or you can cut out two right sides instead of one right and one left.
If you take a piece of paper and draw arrows all over one side, all facing up, then cut it in half across the direction of the arrow, you can see what happens when you arrange it differently.
Keep asking if you get stuck.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2021, 12:22:18 PM by toileandtrouble »
Yarn down:  1000g
Fabric down:  29m

Arloony