The Sewing Place

How to make border bigger

Sheilago

How to make border bigger
« on: May 12, 2021, 11:05:40 AM »
I am not an expert at crochet, but can manage to do things especially if I have a video to follow. I have crocheted the centre of this baby blanket, but I think it is a bit small ( I used 4 ply and a smaller hook) at just 24” square . I’d like to add a broader border of maybe 3” to take it up to 30” square, but I don’t think the pattern is quite that broad. I’ve done one row of uk doubles and one row of V stitch, but think I need to add extra rows. It’s supposed to have 2 rows of V, one row of Granny and then a frill row. Could I maybe add a treble row somewhere or an extra row of V? Not sure how that would look, so if any expert crocheters have a suggestion, I’d be grateful.  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

BrendaP

Re: How to make border bigger
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2021, 11:59:17 AM »
I think that a couple of rows of the same pattern that the centre is worked would look right.  You might need to undo the last row or two, work the border and then repeat the unpicked rows.
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

Sheilago

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2021, 16:31:13 PM »
That sounds like a good idea @BrendaP . I’ll undo the row of V stitch and do 2 rows of shells; a row to straighten up the shells, then do the rest as per the pattern. Thank you for the good suggestion. :D

BrendaP

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2021, 19:18:00 PM »
@Sheilago   If you have enough yarn - and patience - three rows of shells might look better.  Assess it as you go.

It's looking lovely.