The Sewing Place

Quilt binding with or diagonal to grain (edited for clarity)

Flobear

I have been very good and done a search but 'binding' returns a lot of results so I think it's quicker just to ask a question that has probably been answered somewhere - for which apols.

Very taken with some binding I saw that happened to have diagonal stripes  ;) I bought some lovely striped fabric but they aren't diagonal. Simple solution, cut crossway strips (thanks for the practice all those years ago Sister Mary Joseph  :ninja: )  However, as a newish Darksider, still sporting the green P plate on my quilting hat, I am wondering if crossway strips are a bad idea for quilts for any reason.

« Last Edit: May 24, 2021, 18:08:59 PM by Flobear »
Proud new owner of Elvistoo !!

Acorn

Re: Quilt binding with or across grain
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2021, 14:18:14 PM »
I am not an expert, but I think it is likely that they won't lie very straight - they'll wave.  There may be a way of making them behave though, so best to wait for someone else to comment!
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

Ploshkin

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2021, 14:21:57 PM »
Presumably you mean bias as opposed to crosswise grain?  I think the only reason quilt binding is cut on the grain is that quilts generally have straight edges so don't need the bias stretch.
I think you would have to pin bias strips well if you were machining rather than hand sewing it down as I imagine it might be prone to creeping a bit.
Life's too short for ironing.

Flobear

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2021, 15:01:17 PM »
I think it would need to be 'on the cross' if I wanted the stripes at 45° to the quilt edge. I've always called these 'crossways strips' and by mixing it up with 'crosswise' I might be causing confusion!! Especially to one who has a weaving inclination  :P

Lowena

« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2021, 15:03:02 PM »
Creep!!....... The binding, not you  :laughing:
Triumph of hope over experience :D