The Sewing Place

Dress pattern like this? Or keywords I could search? (pictures inside)

bec

Hi everyone

Hope you're well. I'm also hoping you'll bestow some of your wisdom..

I've been asked if I'll have a go at copying this dress. I'm an enthusiastic novice and some parts of it look alright: I have a boxy blouse pattern which I can reuse and change to be an all in one sleeve if needs be - it looks like the bodice is fitted to the waistband with two big darts anyway so I think that part of things will be alright.
The skirt baffles me though and extensive searching has yielded nothing similar. I think it's because I don't really know what I'm looking at so I'm not searching for the right terms. Do you know where I'd find a pattern for something like this please? Or do you know what the style is called (especially the tucks at the front of the skirt)?

If there's no similar pattern, I think my next plan of attack will be to open some big darts into the centre front of a pencil skirt pattern and see how it looks to just fold them up.

Bonus question: do you think cotton poplin would be too heavy?

Thank you for taking the time to noodle on this with me :D

BrendaP

I think that you are looking at an ankle length button through A-line skirt with the centre fronts pleated onto a knee length button band opening. 

Judging from the back which has a centre back seam, I'd guess that both centre back and centre front seams are cut to taper out a little rather than on the straight grain.

It's the sort of thing that shouts try a mock-up using an old or charity shop bed sheet/duvet cover.

The top is a dolman sleeve shirt, or shirt with 'grown-on' sleeves.  Unless the intended wearer is very confident and elegant I'd suggest a couple of buttons or a camisole top worn underneath.  That neckline is very low!