The Sewing Place

Which sewing machine should I buy ???

Terri D

Which sewing machine should I buy ???
« on: August 05, 2021, 22:18:39 PM »
 Hello Boys and Girls  :thumbsup:
Newbie here, thanks for the add.

I'm looking to buy a Janome 5270QDC as a 25th wedding anniversary present for my wife. My budget is £750.
My wife is a very experienced machinist and a very talented crafter.
She would love to have an all singing, all dancing machine that does free motion embroidery, quilting, alphabet for tee shirts and much more,
but definitely fully computerised.

So really my question is ???  Is the Janome 5270QDC a good choice ?
Your opinions and advice would be greatly appreciated.
I know there are other makes but she's set on a Janome.  :loveit:

TIA,
Terri D.

Esme866

Re: Which sewing machine should I buy ???
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2021, 06:28:08 AM »
I would strongly recommend you buy a cute little model of a sewing machine wrap it in a nice box, make a nice, loving "gift certificate" from you on your computer and present her with it all on the big day. Then let her choose which machine she wants. She knows better than anyone which " bells and whistles" she wants as she has so much experience.

It's a wonderful gift for a wonderful day, but I'd let her choose this one.

Congratulations for 25 years!

Gernella

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2021, 10:52:42 AM »
She's dead right @Terri D everybody has their favourite but as you know, one man's meat is another man's poison.

I got a nice fat cheque at Christmas to enable me to swap out my machines and get new (for an up and coming big fat birthday in the April).  Letting DH do  that for me would have been a disaster. As it is when I use that machine I have a bit fat smile on my face.
Stash extension 2024- 6.1 meters
Left at the end of 2023 - 66 meters now (includes fabric found hidden out of sight)  Lining fabric not included

Flobear

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2021, 11:14:21 AM »