The Sewing Place

Emilie turtleneck to try out new overlocker

bec

Emilie turtleneck to try out new overlocker
« on: January 14, 2022, 11:10:30 AM »
Hello everyone, long time lurker this side of the forum  :ninja: but think this is my first time posting a make. I've made a few t shirts and button up shirts in the past, and some pjs, but I am still facing new (to me) challenges and learning a lot every time I make a garment.

I picked up this free turtleneck pattern from Jalie a while ago and have recently used it to try out the overlocker I was given for Christmas, using some black cheapo jersey I wasn't too concerned by the concept of ruining through incompetence.

I did manage to accidentally carve a hole into one of the armpits with the lil overlocker knife but it was pretty easily fixed, and apart from having to rethread the whole device twice the assembly was very painless. I think it's a good beginner pattern as all of the sides are straight including the sleeves, which are not only straight at the top but also attached to the body while it's flat so there's no setting in (which I find very fiddly). All in all I'm very pleased with how it came out:

It came out a little bit over sized because I couldn't figure out how to print the pattern so that the 'test square' measured exactly the correct size so after about 4 attempts with different settings I ended up settling for close enough. I might just get the pattern printed and posted next time as it seems like less faff. Any advice you might have on that front (or general overlocker tips for a newbie) would be very gratefully received!

Celia

Re: Emilie turtleneck to try out new overlocker
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2022, 11:40:34 AM »
That looks great, I have also made that top and mine came out much too big but I decided I liked it that way, I am going to make some more soon but will scale back the size a bit especially in a different fabric. 

toileandtrouble

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2022, 12:11:56 PM »