The Sewing Place

Complete novice looking for guidance

SewingNoob

Complete novice looking for guidance
« on: March 09, 2022, 11:30:11 AM »
Hi all,

I'm Sewingnoob but you can call me Sam. I have never sewed anything apart from holes in my socks lol. I'm looking to start my sewing journey by making a box cushion out of denim for my puppy to use as a dog bed.

As my hand sewing isn't really up to scratch, I think it will be easier and will produce a better finish if I use a sewing machine to sew the gussets and seams, but can any one recommend a use friendly sewing machine that isn't going to cost the earth to purchase and can handle denim?

Also any advice on if I need to use any particular thread for this project would be appreciated.

Thank you all in advance!

WildAtlanticWay

Re: Complete novice looking for guidance
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2022, 12:11:29 PM »
Might be worth a trip to your nearest good sewing machine shop where you can see what’s available? If you tell us the County you’re in, I’m sure you’ll get some shop recommendations.

Just like buying cars, there’s a huge variety of makes, models and extras to choose from. Plus good quality used models too.

Start by working out what you’re likely to be sewing and set a realistic budget.

Dressmaking, Embroidery, Quilting, Soft Furnishing - curtains, cushion covers etc., bag making and related accessories, soft toys etc…. 

There isn’t really a One Size Fits All machine. Also, maybe buy with the intention of trading in and upgrading later on if you really get into it?

Ohsewsimple

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2022, 12:17:25 PM »
Welcome @SewingNoob
If you can get to a shop that would be your best bet.  It is difficult for people to advise on machines as it’s a personal thing.  What one person likes and finds easy to use, another will dislike intensely.