The Sewing Place

Complete novice looking for guidance

BrendaP

Re: Complete novice looking for guidance
« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2022, 12:13:33 PM »
I personally would never buy anything but brand new.
Find a shop or phone if you don't have a local one. Tell them what you hope to sew and ask their advice. Good luck  :sew:

Don't listen to @Lowena - she won't have anything that's not brand spanking new!

If you ask a dealer for something new in your price range they will only be able to offer cheap, plasticy, lightweight machines that won't handle several thicknesses of denim.

The vintage Singers mentioned are excellent workhorses, especially the 201 - but they are straight stitch only.  Mine made piped box cushions from upholstery fabric which is thicker than most denim without complaining and at times it had to go through six layers of fabric.
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

However, if you want to sew garments where you need to neaten the seam allowances something with a swing needle to do zig-zag stitch would be better such as a Singer 306.
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

William

« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2022, 19:07:39 PM »
Hello-

There is nothing like an older all-metal mashine. I have an old Singer and a Pfaff 94. Both are older than I am and run beautifully. They do both straight and zig-zag and that is all i need! In addition, the buttonholes, once You learn how to do them are just great.
These maschines are also made with the understanding that the owner will be servicing them. This means that they are easier to clean and oil. If You can get one in a table You also have the bonus of a large area to work on as well.