The Sewing Place

Sashiko cushion

Lowena

Sashiko cushion
« on: June 18, 2017, 13:51:09 PM »
I have finished my Sashiko cushion and wanted to share as it is my first attempt.
I used thin linen in indigo and a traditional flower pattern.I had cotton backing and perle thread.
I actually used several pastel colours but they don't show up on the photo. The colour changes are very subtle.
For a first attempt I am pleased with the result  :)
« Last Edit: June 18, 2017, 14:24:38 PM by Lowena »
Triumph of hope over experience :D

Vegegrow

Re: Feeling very cross!
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 14:09:21 PM »
 Low's pic
Love it Lowena
"The only place where housework comes before needlework is in the dictionary." ~Mary Kurtz

Lowena

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 14:14:12 PM »
Oh, thank you so much Vege  <3 I'd come back to transfer it myself ( now I've calmed down  :| ) and am very grateful to you  <3

wrenkins

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2017, 14:23:48 PM »
That's lovely Lowena.
Did you use a template or a transfer or your eye or what? It looks very accurate (not that I know what I'm looking for particularly) but it looks very good to me.
Well done you.
Harbouring resentment is like swallowing poison and waiting for the other person to die!

Ploshkin

Re: Sashiko cushion
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2017, 15:46:33 PM »
(I've already written this but it seems to have disappeared - it will probably appear twice now)
That is lovely Lowena, it's the first actual sashiko thing I've seen, I've only seen samples of stitches before.
Life's too short for ironing.

Lowena

« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2017, 16:31:34 PM »
Thank you Ploshy, I'm going to do a tote bag next I think. Then I hope to do a small quilt using KANTHA quilting

Surest1tch

« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2017, 17:26:00 PM »
Lovely job

Ellabella

« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2017, 19:11:02 PM »
Thats lovely Lowena, so simple but so effective.

BrendaP

« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2017, 22:21:19 PM »