The Sewing Place

Overcast stitch is wrong way around.

Adey1981

Overcast stitch is wrong way around.
« on: April 21, 2022, 23:47:32 PM »
I assume I'm just being a noob here, but..

I have Frister and Rossmann Beaver 4 (Sold in US as Kenmore 158.1431...I believe)
It has a overcast-stretch function, but seems to be the wrong way around from what I'm seeing from other sources.

It's like this:
<|
<|
<|

Instead of like this:
|>
|>
|>

This means I have to have the bulk of the fabric to the right of the needle, and would make free arm sewing impossible with the overcast stitch.
What am I missing?

Thanks

StitchinTime

Re: Overcast stitch is wrong way around.
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2022, 07:18:45 AM »
Great use of the keyboard to show the stitches!

I think the stitch you have shown is for blind hemming not an overcast stretch stitch. I’ll try to find a manual for your machine and see what is says about stitch options.

Iminei

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2022, 08:09:52 AM »
Ill let @SiT  answer you properly as she probably knows the model of your SM ....

But just for your information on a lot of the Computerized machines there is a Mirror Image function which can flip the stitches for you.

I find this extremely useful for when I finish binding my quilts using a blanket stitch as ... instead of the whole bulk of the quilt to the right of the needle ie under the Harp space, the quilt is to the left and all that is running to the right of the needle is the binding .. looks good too.
The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

toileandtrouble

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2022, 08:11:29 AM »
Try sewingonline.co.uk for a free to view manual. You can also buy a printout from them.  It does show how to get an overcast stitch.  The advertising for an eBay sale said your machine is built to last more than one lifetime.  You won't wear it out!
Yarn down:  1000g
Fabric down:  29m

Bodgeitandscarper

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2022, 09:44:58 AM »