The Sewing Place

Hi from a complete newbie

RosyPosy

Hi from a complete newbie
« on: April 29, 2022, 15:24:06 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I have been reading posts on The Sewing Place for the last few weeks and thought it was about time I joined in.  I am a complete newbie, not only to this forum but also to sewing.  I started crocheting at the beginning of the first lockdown and then decided to move on to embroidery, cross-stitch and then saw some quilting on a TV channel and was fascinated by the colours and patterns.

I knew I had to have a go at quilting and started learning to use a sewing machine only last year.  My first experience had been at school (back in the dim and distant past) and it used to drive me to tears.  I couldn't even thread the machine!  I have now completed 7 patchwork squares (those flying geese have kept my unpicker busy  :boohoo:) and really love seeing them come together.  I am going to try QAYG when all squares are completed as I don't have space to sandwich a full quilt, let alone quilt it.

I am in awe of all of your experience and skill.  I'm hoping a bit of it will rub off on me

b15erk

Re: Hi from a complete newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2022, 16:00:12 PM »
A big welome from me to TSP @RosyPosy !

Look forward to watching your progress!

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

Lachica

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2022, 16:04:36 PM »
Welcome! Lots of skilled quilty folks lurking in the Darkside will be around be around to offer advice. I don't quilt but am in awe of the skills involved in selecting colours & accurately stitching tiny pieces.
Mary
2020 stash: not gonna count, not gonna feel guilty.

Lowena

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2022, 16:06:56 PM »
Hi @RosyPosy  and welcome from a founder member of the forum and a stalwart of The Darkside! ( patchwork and quilting board )