The Sewing Place

The cross stitch garden

Vegegrow

The cross stitch garden
« on: January 07, 2018, 19:57:40 PM »
I bought this book recently as I love the designs  https://www.johnlewis.com/search-press-the-cross-stitch-garden-book-by-kazuko-aoki/p3260044?sku=236962341&s_kwcid=2dx92700027447585353&tmad=c&tmcampid=2&gclid=Cj0KCQiAp8fSBRCUARIsABPL6JZAS4CoaKOJChtxqIiovlZO6RsJqvufCUUru_UI4ROJZW5rwHC-hkgaArp7EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds
 I'm a complete beginner at this but I don't let things like that stop me.. I have looked through the book and I understand it I think ..... all except this... in the thread squares 422 and 610 there is a thicker line along the edge of the square boxes does this mean something..  :\  any advice much appreciated
"The only place where housework comes before needlework is in the dictionary." ~Mary Kurtz

Acorn

Re: The cross stitch garden
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 20:02:33 PM »
I would think it means that an outline in the darker ink is done in thread number 422, and in the paler ink is done in thread 610.

Does that make sense looking at the chart?
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

sewingj

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 08:54:02 AM »
Is it possible that it means that some of the cross-stitches also need a straight stitch to outline them?

Iminei

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2018, 09:00:12 AM »
Good God Vege  :\ 

You seem to have stumbled across some ancient lost language or interplanetary sci-fi code to the secret of life!!!  :S

I would google basic cross stitch destructions, its not something I have ever come across or done myself ... but I look forward to seeing pics of your progress .... Do you need embroidery wool ?? I have tons looking for a good home!
The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

Lilian

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2018, 13:27:51 PM »