The Sewing Place

Inspiration Needed

Lowena

Inspiration Needed
« on: September 23, 2017, 10:12:16 AM »
Yo! I have been given a jelly roll for my birthday. Apart from 8 plain strips ( 2 each of pink, cream, brown and moss green ) the rest are highly patterned in the same colours ( big and small ) It is Moda "Roses and Chocolates" ( or Chocolate and Roses ) and I don't know what pattern to do or what would need adding to it. I usually ( numpty hat at the ready ) shy away from "busy " fabrics, but want to be more adventurous.
Any / all suggestions welcome
Also, where do you get your ideas for patterns from? books, mags,Pinterest,FB your clever brain????
I feel I want to break free ( now I'll have that song in my head all day )
I have been making for coming up 5 years and don't seem to have progressed beyond "safe " patterns and fabrics ( it's easy to rely on batiks )
Any help appreciated  :ninja:
Triumph of hope over experience :D

Ploshkin

Re: Inspiration Needed
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2017, 10:34:09 AM »
Have you googled 'Jelly Roll quilt patterns'?  There are hundreds of them out there.  Pam and Nicky Lintott from The Quilt Room are queens of the jelly roll but their patterns are all in books, no free ones.  With JRs it's generally quite easy to work out the construction from a picture without needing a pattern. 
You have already discovered there are a lot of similar colours / designs and usually not much contrast so you might want a background fabric.
Life's too short for ironing.

Lowena

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 10:39:24 AM »
Yes Ploshy, I have been Googling for the last 2 days. I also have 3 of the Lintott's books but none of what I've seen have seemed suitable for this busy roll and I wouldn't know what is appropriate to add to it  :|
Please put your thinking caps on........it's help a numpty Saturday doncha know  :D

Acorn

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2017, 10:44:07 AM »