The Sewing Place

Suppose there was this total beginner . . .

LeilaMay

Suppose there was this total beginner . . .
« on: September 23, 2017, 16:51:59 PM »
Yes, let's play "pretend"

Suppose there was this total beginner - sewn 7 hexagons together by hand in school in 1975 - done some textile courses so understands the basic premise.
Suppose there is NO STASH of fabric at all.
Suppose there are no templates, no fancy machine, nothing but very basic equipment.
And not a lot of £££ to spare, so think frugal please.

And then pretend - in a fit of "winter is coming" madness they thought about making something in patchwork!

What would you suggest?
Ideas on a postcard, postage stamp or a whole side of A4  :)

Thank you
Leila
:vintage:

maliw

Re: Suppose there was this total beginner . . .
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2017, 17:50:09 PM »
Ok here we go, my four penneth for what it's worth.
Look at quilting sites and get ideas.
You can start with squares - nine patch, sudoku quilts etc
Find something you can draw round it you don't have the rulers and cut out the shape, you can make a template out of cardboard but make sure all the pieces are the same. Or just make strips - rail fence, log cabin etc
Fabric - try charity shops, I've had sheets for about £3 - loads of fabric there. You don't have to buy pure cotton fabrics.
All you need is a basic machine, make sure all your seams are the same. Standard quilting seams are 1/4" so see if you can measure this on your machine and put a piece of masking tape along the machine where this would be.
Play, play play, it doesn't have to be perfect, just enjoy it. It's amazing how time passes. There are NO quilting police.
Hope this helps a little. Don't forget that traditionally patchwork was always done with old fabric to make something else.
At leisure on the leisure penninsula

maliw

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 17:52:58 PM »
Sudoku quilt that I did with squares and using curtain lining as a backing