The Sewing Place

I've been reading the posts here........

justpottering

I've been reading the posts here........
« on: October 08, 2017, 16:29:13 PM »
I have completely missed this area of TSP but then again knitting and crochet is a winter thing for me, to sit on those dark evenings watching the box (if I can find anything to watch) it is good for me because it keeps me still.
I have just started knitting a cardigan for DH, although I still have a sweater to finish that I put away in the spring - when I don't want to knit anymore nothing will induce me to do so.....I only need to finish of the top of one sleeve and sew it all together!  I started knitting in school, and remember knitting my first baby cardigan for an expected new cousin at the age of 7
I also love to crochet, for this I am self taught, I learned the very basics as a child, but about 10 years ago bought myself a book with all the different crochet stitches in it, found a pattern and bobs yer uncle - I can now make all sorts of things, I have a pattern for a lacy cardi for me which shall be this winters crochet pattern.
So I shall be visiting this part of the Sewing Place a bit more often through the coming months  :)
When I started DH's cardi last night, he was looking at the pattern, he asked me if I ever to a tension square, when I said no he said 'it says here that you should' so I did one, gave it to him to measure, and it was perfect, and I said 'that's why I don't do a tension square unless it's an unusual yarn which isn't necessarily the recommended one for the pattern, because my knitting tension is usually ok'  :)
JP
Dressmaker - but first......tea

Lowena

Re: I've been reading the posts here........
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2017, 17:38:29 PM »
I've tried and tried to learn to crochet... had lessons, got books, watched vids but  :'( :'(
My knitting is poor but acceptable... I'm knitting a teddy atm  :)
Triumph of hope over experience :D

Ploshkin