The Sewing Place

Blocking??

b15erk

Blocking??
« on: November 09, 2017, 09:26:26 AM »
Any tips?

I've never done it before, but on the Sea Nymph sweater, I can see that it would benefit, mainly because, I unpicked? frogged, tinked? so many times at the beginning of this project, so the knitting doesn't look too neat.

I'm on the last lap with this, just the sleeves to do, and it would be nice to know that it can look rather nicer than it does at present.....

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

Ploshkin

Re: Blocking??
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2017, 09:59:48 AM »
I do block knitting but when I did my sweater in the round I realised I didn't know how I was going to do it.  Having done magic loop for the first time it definitely needed the knitting evening up a bit.
In the end I hand washed the whole thing in lukewarm water then rolled it in a towel to squeeze out the excess water. I left it flat for a day so that it was damp rather than wet then put a cloth over the top and gave it a steam all over then turned it over and did the other side then left it flat to dry completely.
Not very technical and a bit of a faff but it definitely improved the look of the knitting and I've worn the sweater a lot.
Life's too short for ironing.

b15erk

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2017, 10:05:51 AM »
Thanks Plosh, that's helpful.  I thought I didn't block, as I don't use special pins or boards or anything, but I do do something like you've just said.

I hand wash, roll in towels, pull to shape, and dry flat.  Is that blocking?  If it is I haven't got a problem!  ;)

I'm using cotton yarn, so I may have to check how it will behave.

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

Francesca

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2017, 11:11:46 AM »