The Sewing Place

Help needed with pin tucking

Bugs

Help needed with pin tucking
« on: February 23, 2021, 20:54:18 PM »
  :thinking:

Hello everyone

I’m new here and could really do with help please. I am trying to sew pintucks using the twin needle and pin tuck foot. I am sewing on standard cotton fabric .

My issue is that I can’t get the right settings. I have my stitch length on 2 and tension on 4 which makes great pintucks but the thread snaps every few seconds. I lower my tension but then it’s not enough to make the pintucks.... I have put my pressure foot dial either at 3 or 2 and changed all the dials several times over but still the thread breaks.  Including the width slough im not sure it does anything for it??
All the videos I’ve seen are so easy , 123 and away.. I am a seamstress for a living and can sew anything else but can’t get this right.

Please please, if someone could help me I would be hugely thankful.

Thank you
Hayley

b15erk

Re: Help needed with pin tucking
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2021, 21:21:07 PM »
I don't know if it will help, but when I use a twin needle, I  turn the tension down.

Btw @Bugs welcome to TSP!

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

Lachica

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2021, 21:23:58 PM »
Have you tried different thread? Try with gutermann.
Mary
2020 stash: not gonna count, not gonna feel guilty.

Lilian

« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2021, 22:08:55 PM »
Welcome @Bugs  :drink: sorry can't help with the pintucks
Willing but not always able :)

Bugs

« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2021, 07:25:31 AM »
  :thinking:

Hello everyone

I’m new here and could really do with help please. I am trying to sew pintucks using the twin needle and pin tuck foot. I am sewing on standard cotton fabric .