The Sewing Place

overlocker re-threading query

rubywishes

overlocker re-threading query
« on: February 11, 2018, 07:18:25 AM »
With my Babylock Eclipse I have air threading and it doesn't matter which order I re-thread the loopers. Am I right in assuming that with this old Hobby Lock overlocker I have rescued that there is a particular order to this?  And does it just pertain to the loopers and not the needle thread as that one doesn't go down into the "innards" of poor Toady?
Juki TL2010Q, Juki DX7,  Singers: 1917 27K treadle (aka Gertie), 1957 99k (aka Vincent), 1951 99k knee lever (aka Shirley), 1950 99k handcrank (aka Alice), 1927 28K (aka Dora), 1947 201K treadle with motor conversion (aka Livvy)
....and the dusting and vacuming can wait!

Ploshkin

Re: overlocker re-threading query
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2018, 07:53:52 AM »
Morning Ruby, I'm not an overlocker expert, I've only ever used the one I've got now but I happen to be around at this time of the morning.
I wouldn't know which looper you need to thread first but this is a tip that I read in a book and it saved my sanity when I couldn't get my overlocker to stitch when I first had it.
It said that, with any machine, regardless of which looper the instructions say to thread first, the lower looper thread must always go over the upper looper thread before they go under the foot (a bit counter intuitive).

So, with my machine I thread the lower looper first as instructed then leave the thread end hanging down at the front of the machine.  I then thread the upper looper and put the thread end under the foot then I take the first thread and put it under the foot - that way it goes over the top of the lower looper thread.  If I don't do that I get a tangle when I start to stitch.