The Sewing Place

How to lengthen a sleeve - properly

sewingj

How to lengthen a sleeve - properly
« on: February 01, 2018, 13:09:08 PM »
I am going to make Mccalls 7323 view c

https://www.sewessential.co.uk/misses-asymmetrical-seam-detail-tops-mccalls-pattern-7323?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIrpOfiOOE2QIVCr7tCh0dHQsdEAQYASABEgJzlPD_BwE

but would like it to have 3/4 length sleeves. What is the best way to do this?  Please bear in mind I have NO experience of drafting patterns.

I thought I could use a sleeve from a different pattern but the sleeve head (is that the right term?) is a different shape so presumably wouldn`t fit into the arm hole correctly.  The existing short sleeve looks like it fits quite tightly to the upper arm - I think if I just made it longer the whole sleeve might be too tight.  I don`t even know how I would draw it so that the sleeve is symmetrical (come to think of it - I don`t even know if a sleeve is symmetrical!)

Any help would be much appreciated

Efemera

Re: How to lengthen a sleeve - properly
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2018, 13:25:12 PM »
Simply extend the short sleeve....

UttaRetch

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2018, 13:37:22 PM »
That's what I would do too.

Ploshkin

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2018, 14:19:08 PM »
Use a hybrid sleeve - the sleeve head for the pattern you are making morphed into the lower part of an appropriate length sleeve from another pattern.
I frequently do this with pattern pieces to save drawing it myself (lazy).
Life's too short for ironing.

Lachica

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2018, 15:04:00 PM »
Nice pattern, just my sort of top. I'm keen to see how yours turns out. As Uttaretch says, just lengthen the sleeve from its hem. Taper it in a bit (check the width at intervals to be sure it will go round your arms). I wouldn't suggest using a sleeve from another pattern, as you say, the sleeve head will most likely be a different shape so you will be making problems for yourself.
Mary