The Sewing Place

Kaftan? Beginner Here!

JayRo

Kaftan? Beginner Here!
« on: February 06, 2018, 11:50:53 AM »
Hi all,

I'm sure you're all absolute sewing goddesses (at least that's the impression I get from reading your posts) but I wondered if you could help with a basic problem?

I want to make a bunch of floor length kaftans for the summer and most youtube/online tutorials simple say to fold the fabric in half, cut out the neck and sew up the sides.

Surely the hem wouldn't be straight at the bottom because it would slope off the shoulders, or am I totally getting this wrong?

Thanks!

J

LeilaMay

Re: Kaftan? Beginner Here!
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 13:39:46 PM »
I have an 80's pattern somewhere, which of course I can't put my hand on right now, but if I remember you rounded the bottom corners of the fabric, thereby removing the bits that would otherwise trial on the ground.

LeilaMay

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 13:42:01 PM »
Some of the ones I see online are not floor length in centre - that makes the trailing edges still just above the ground.

lakaribane

« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2018, 14:58:19 PM »
Wow, this reminded me of the one my grandmother made for me in red fabric! So thank you for that!

It's been a while and I have no memory of hem issues but it was made exactly as you said: twice the desired length + hem allowance, wide neckline cut out and finished, seams up each side of the body. Tada!

I wore it to death.

HenriettaMaria

« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2018, 20:25:43 PM »
Butterick 5725 fits the bill if you want to follow a proper pattern.

JayRo

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2018, 11:52:30 AM »
Fab, thanks for your replies!

I'll definitely try some that are shorted in the centre, but if I wanted to round off the edges what would be the correct maths to calculate it?

I love kaftans, they're just so easy to throw on aren't they?

DementedFairy

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2018, 12:19:50 PM »