The Sewing Place

Glue for temporally holding things togeather

westworldhost

Glue for temporally holding things togeather
« on: March 03, 2018, 13:22:19 PM »
Is there a particular glue people would recommend for holding things togeather until they have been sewed? something fast drying? (in my case denim)

I know people use pins for this, but for small things the pins can get in the way.

(Total newbie btw)

Manuela

Re: Glue for temporally holding things togeather
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2018, 13:44:16 PM »
I haven't used it, but some people swear on using a product called 'steam a seam'.
Love your login name btw  :D

Morgan

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2018, 14:06:49 PM »
Wash Away Wonder Tape, from the post did yesterday -

Audition the placement/positioning with -
Wash Away Wonder Tape,     Wash Away Wonder Tape,     Wash Away Wonder Tape

various brands eg. Collins, Dritz, Prym.

Simple, Easy, Terrific for precision and pattern matching, Ideal for re-positioning, Holds everything in place, No need for nasty pins, fiddly clips or even basting/tacking, Sew through it without gumming up the needle and disappears on first wash.  (Also very useful as a hoop grip aid in machine embroidery - stick to the bottom of the inner hoop)

It's the ideal method for zip insertion and holding things in place exactly where you want them
Zips, pattern matched seams, welts, overlaid pattern pieces (inside corners), hems and great for knit fabrics and anything that shifts around or creeps

I love the stuff, it's so useful for precision work.

Video clip of some examples

washi

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2018, 19:37:12 PM »