The Sewing Place

Janome XL601 - any good for a total newb?

BrendaP

Re: Janome XL601 - any good for a total newb?
« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2018, 21:10:05 PM »
If you ae going to test drive any machine it's a good idea to take your own bits of fabric - what they are likely to have for you to try sewing is something like craft weight cotton (P&Q fabric) which is about as good natured as fabric gets.

The leg from an old pair of jeans would do just fine to see how it copes going over doubled fell seams (3 + 3 layers of denim) but also take something quite flimsy to try it in the other extreme.
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

StitchinTime

« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2018, 21:12:58 PM »
@Lulu The British Sewing Centre is ringing alarm bells with me. The address (Delta Court) is the same as was used by Cooper Sewing Machines which featured on Rogue Traders and/or Watchdog.

arrow

« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2018, 23:35:40 PM »
For test stitching I would bring a densely woven cotton duck or heavier canvas. Regular denim jeans isn't difficult to stitch through at all, the challenge is where pices with flat felled seams come together, and the lay up on legs where you have then folded twice (three layers of flat felled seams add up to quite a bump). Corduroy is a fabric some machines struggle with. One popular janome model haluted in a fabric with a fusable inner lining, something that in theory isn't very hard to stitch through. It all depens on what you will end up working with. Some machine are totally incapable with top stitch thread regardless of needle size, others adjust very easily for various thread weights. This is one of the reasons my cast iron 201 is still my favorite machine.

Lizzy777