The Sewing Place

Struggling With My Machine

Lolli

Struggling With My Machine
« on: April 02, 2018, 13:30:00 PM »
My sewing machine is a Janome SMD1000 from Sewing Machines Direct. I bought it 2 & 1/2 years ago when I was a complete beginner (I'd never used one before) so didn't get an expensive one as I wasn't sure if I'd stick at sewing or if could even do it. It was £189 so not the very cheapest bog standard, yet it's not one of the better ones either. It's very noisy when sewing (a knocking/banging sound) and it's not smooth to use. I'd say it needs oil but there's no mention of oiling in the manual at all or instructions of where to put it, plus it's made that racket from the beginning.
Also I have no control with the pedal, it's either full on speed (like it's trying to run away!) or nothing at all. I can't control the speed at which I'm sewing and slow down when I need to. It's very difficult to sew neat  :(

If it was just the pedal I'd look into getting a better pedal but like I say, it's knocky and not smooth running either. I'm thinking about getting a new one and keeping my current one as a spare. What kind of price range is deemed as the right amount for something better and does anyone have any recommendations?
« Last Edit: April 02, 2018, 13:35:29 PM by Lolli »

Ploshkin

Re: Struggling With My Machine
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2018, 14:41:00 PM »
It's probably best to start off by making a list of features you would ideally like to have e.g. speed control, needle up/down, free arm, decorative stitches etc and see what is available that gives you what you want..  of course, you may well have to compromise on some features if it is too expensive for you.
There's always the option of buying good, second hand to get more for your money but still consider what features you really want to have.
Life's too short for ironing.

Greybird

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2018, 16:18:13 PM »