The Sewing Place

So disappointed - this is why I don't wear dresses!

Vezelay

So disappointed - this is why I don't wear dresses!
« on: April 12, 2018, 17:53:30 PM »
 :'(
I've been putting off making Kwik Sew 3489 for a couple of years - now I know why! Fabric's been sitting there for 3 or 4 years at least - a sort of slinky viscose that I was saving for something suitable. Well I certainly picked the wrong pattern for it.

My parents' in law's celebration of life is next week so I decided I needed a dress. Not this one though :|.
I made a size S but it was huge, so I took all the seams in at least a half inch, added some elastic to the waist, took it up 4 inches etc. (I'd already added a neckband because I knew it would be too low otherwise). It's still too big and saggy, the waist is too low and it's........awful. It looks like an "old ladies' dress" - so unflattering and most definitely not the handmade fashion statement I was looking for.

So I shall be wearing trousers and a plain top I made a while back. Boring, but at least they fit me!

No more wrap dresses for me. Anyone want the (uncut) pattern? I'm in the UK next week so just want the postage, whatever that is. And if anyone can think of a magic way of transforming my dress into something wearable, I'd be delighted.

DementedFairy

Re: So disappointed - this is why I don't wear dresses!
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 18:02:27 PM »
That's not baggy OR unflattering- just very dark!  Light tights, pretty shoes, a bright necklace...come on woman, stick some colour on it [And if you will be wearing make up to the 'do' , slap some on for your try-ons.  I hate the look of ANYTHING on me if I just try it on 'naked']
C'est moi!

Iminei

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 18:05:24 PM »
I agree .... that drapes lovelyly!

Big Hat would work as well I think (?)

I went to my MIL 75th recently, dressed up (which I never do but I felt very glam) and,