The Sewing Place

Overlocker needles?

Surest1tch

Overlocker needles?
« on: June 06, 2018, 07:17:54 AM »
Can anyone point me in the right direction to find non ballpoint needles for my Janome overlocker please? All I seem to be able to find are ballpoints  :'(

Efemera

Re: Overlocker needles?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2018, 07:57:27 AM »
I don’t know about Janome but I always used any old needles in my Bernina overlocker (which I’ve been using for 30 years with no problems)

StitchinTime

« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2018, 08:29:00 AM »
Can you let us know the model number? Looking at the Janome brochure some of their overlockers use "standard" needles and some use ELX705 needles.

Schmetx have a useful guide to overlocker (serger) needles explaining the difference between standard (130/705H) needles and ELX705 needles.

Helen M

« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2018, 16:07:23 PM »
I too have always used 'ordinary' needles in my Brother overlocker. In fact when I tried a 'blue tip' needle which I tend to use most of the time in my regular machine the blue tip ones broke twice on the overlocker. I honestly can't remember breaking a needle on it and it's 28 years old! I went back to the ordinary ones after that!
Stash Busting 2024 - Goal: 25 metres
So far:  1.5 metres  ------ Donated : 0 metres
Items decluttered: 55

Surest1tch

« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2018, 20:33:19 PM »