The Sewing Place

Constructing A Garment

Lolli

Constructing A Garment
« on: June 20, 2018, 16:17:53 PM »
Apologies in advance if this is a daft question  -<

When making a garment (in this case a dress which is made up of a 5-piece bodice, a midriff front & back and a 2-piece skirt), when would I use the overlocker?

I'm a complete novice at overlocking but I'm going to attempt to use it to make said dress.

Do you sew each seam first on a sewing machine and then neaten it off with the overlocker?
Or go straight in with the overlocker? (which could prove to be dangerous with my lack of experience).

UttaRetch

Re: Constructing A Garment
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2018, 16:27:36 PM »
I don't have an overlocker - work Satan as far as I am concerned - but I tend to neaten the seams before assembly.  Bear in mind, however, that you may have to 'grade' (trim down) some seams, so neatening will be lost.

b15erk

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2018, 16:32:49 PM »
I wouldn't neaten the seams first, unless the fabric frays badly.  If you are still finding your feet, there is nothing wrong with doing the seams on your SM first, and then going over with the OL.

Unless you think there will have to be alteration in the future, I would just just do a straight OL seam, otherwise finish each seam with the OL and join as usual with your SM.

You will quickly get a 'feel' for what is right for you. 

Have a look at some of your rtw dresses, and if you like it, pinch their idea!

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

mammafairy

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2018, 16:56:41 PM »
No right or wrong exactly. I like to overlock everything first, if possible. There are exceptions, of course. Overlocking stabilises things and I find my garment goes together more smoothly. It is also less fiddly that trying to overlock after the seams have been sewn.