The Sewing Place

What Machine should a newbie get?

Bjørn

What Machine should a newbie get?
« on: July 11, 2018, 10:40:24 AM »
Hey

I'm new to sewing, and wanted to get into it buying a used machine.
I know from what I call 2nd hand experience, meaning what I hear from people I talk/listen to, that in most cases older machines are more reliable. No matter if it's cars, lathes, or bandsaws. I was wondering if that's the same for sewing machines too? I've recently seen some old machines from Singer, Husqvarna, Pfaff, & other manufacturers on the norwegian version of ebay, which all seem very alike, at least from their chassie (sorry if that's the wrong term, not fully into the lingo yet).

(some are with motors too, but they all look basically like the one in the picture)

I was wondering if it'd be recommendable to get one of those, or rather something newer which maybe has a few more functions.

[EDIT]
I don't want to do leather. At least not for now, that'll be something further in the future. For now the thickest I'll be going is denim, haven't looked into that many patterns yet but I guess up to 3 or 4 layers.

It'll for me mostly go into clothing, for normal wear, but also for cosplay. So pants, jackets, probably hoodies or sweaters too. As far as I've understood that includes quilting, buttonholes, stretch stitches, straight stitches and probably some things I overlook right now.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 00:36:48 AM by Bjørn »
"What you can build with your two hands, no man can take away from you"

Greybird

Re: What Machine should a newbie get?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2018, 12:02:41 PM »
I second that. You will be limited as to what you can do without at least a zig-zag stitch. You don't need loads of embroidery stitches. You need a machine with a strong motor and Husqvarna machines are ideal. Make sure you buy it from a dealer who can assure you that it has been fully checked over and serviced. Happy sewing!

arrow