The Sewing Place

Threads Magazine - hard copy?

sewingj

Threads Magazine - hard copy?
« on: July 11, 2018, 13:58:46 PM »
Is it possible to buy Threads as an actual magazine in the UK rather than the digital version?
 I am having a few problems with my eyes and find reading on the comuter quite uncomfortable at times.  I have gone to their website and clicked on "Buy this Issue" and "Subscribe" but get the message that my request has been rejected.

Ohsewsimple

Re: Threads Magazine - hard copy?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2018, 14:48:07 PM »
Yes I have a subscription.  Have done for years.  Can't understand why it won't let you as they go all over the world.  What have you done to upset them sewingj? :)

sewingj

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2018, 14:52:28 PM »
I`ve taken Fran`s advice and I can get a subscription via the WH Smith website  - £40 for a year
@Ohsewsimple   do you think it is worth it? I have bought a couple of sewing magazines recently and been very disappointed with the content - too many adverts and too basic for me

I doubt if my local WH Smith keeps it and it would be a pain in the neck going into Stratford just to buy a copy (no parking!)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2018, 14:55:24 PM by sewingj »

Ohsewsimple

« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2018, 15:03:24 PM »
@sewingj I certainly think the magazine used to be better and have more pages.    And I wouldn't waste my money on anything produced here.  They always seem too basic, simple and very often full of wrong info. 
The 'too basic' complaint is something I agree with and Threads does seem to have some basic content in there.  If you can find a recent copy it will give you some idea of what you're going to get.  I have considered cancelling mine but it's the only mag I have.  I have loads of them and often find I will pull them out and go through them again for inspiration.  Or I will seek out an article on a particular technique and re read. 

UttaRetch

« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2018, 20:13:19 PM »