The Sewing Place

Sew Red for The Eve Appeal

Bogwoppit

Re: Sew Red for The Eve Appeal
« Reply #75 on: September 11, 2018, 12:23:05 PM »
I'm joining in too!
Got red crinkly chiffon stuff to make in to a top.  I've made it before in lawn and this is my first try sewing really lightweight stuff.
Changed it to a single piece for the back as I can easily get it over my head, remembered to change the facing too and they match.

Lurking in Lancashire, improving my sewing when life gives me time.

Iminei

« Reply #76 on: September 11, 2018, 12:47:53 PM »
May I have your input please ...

Please hop over to my picasa and give me your opinion about the border and binding choices ... pics at the end of the album.

None of them might be completely right but Im trying to keep the width of the border down as the top measures 52" sq at the moment ..

The red strip will measure 1" (F) and white strip will measure 2" (F) so thats an extra 6" on the top  :S
« Last Edit: September 11, 2018, 12:57:10 PM by Iminei »
The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

Lowena

« Reply #77 on: September 11, 2018, 12:54:44 PM »
To be honest, I'm not that keen on any of them. I think it only needs 2 strips and not 3. Having 3 detracts from the body of the quilt to me.
Triumph of hope over experience :D

Iminei

« Reply #78 on: September 11, 2018, 12:58:32 PM »
The dark red/black and the lighter red/white are for the binding Ladies ...

Border currently consists of a 2"(f) white strip with a 1"(f) red strip
« Last Edit: September 11, 2018, 13:00:35 PM by Iminei »

Fiona M

« Reply #79 on: September 11, 2018, 13:27:33 PM »
Ok, so I figure I’d better get a move on.
The fabric is in the washer and the pattern is out on my sewing table. ;)

Fiona M

« Reply #80 on: September 11, 2018, 16:15:04 PM »
@Francesca No, not poly, it won’t shrink!
Cotton for pinnies though, needs preshrinking, and a bit of the red dye needs to be lost - don’t want anyone grumbling cos my pinny turned their whites pink!

Bogwoppit