The Sewing Place

Help with choosing sewing machine please!

Beth-M

Help with choosing sewing machine please!
« on: September 28, 2018, 16:52:11 PM »
Hey,

I'm new to sewing machines, I had a basic machine from my Mum and started making dog bandanas for my dog. I have also made a few collars on this machine but I think the fabric is too thick for the poor machine and I feel I have now messed up this machine! So now I am looking to buy a new machine which can handle the thicker materials.

The material I'm trying to sew is cushion webbing wrapped in cotton fabric, this is then folded over and sewn to attach the hardware and secure the collar. The thickness of the two layers together is 8-10mm so I need a machine that can cope with that.

After a little research I am looking at the Singer Heavy Duty 4411 and the Toyota J17 Super Jeans. So my question is would these be ok for what I want and is one better than the other? Which would you recommend?

Thanks in advance!

Ohsewsimple

Re: Help with choosing sewing machine please!
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2018, 19:13:53 PM »
That's a lot for any domestic machine to cope with.  I'd certainly steer clear of the Singer Heavy Duty.  HD it definitely isn't!   
I think you need a second hand metal bodied machine.  But that depth is quite a lot and some machines may not have the space under the foot.  I have an old Pfaff 30 and it pretty much copes with anything but I don't think I'd have the room under the foot for that depth.  I could have had it altered when I got it but chose not to. 

arrow

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2018, 20:21:01 PM »