The Sewing Place

A cutting board?

Greybird

A cutting board?
« on: October 09, 2018, 14:42:17 PM »
I am in the middle of painting my dining table. It's French polished finish was long gone and years of grandchildren's drawing sessions on it have taken their toll too. The thing is that I have to do all my cutting out on it and whilst I am happy for the painted surface to acquire a naturally "distressed" finish, I have a feeling that scissors and pins are not going to achieve the right effect.

Whilst painting I have been thinking that I should get a cutting board but I have never used one before and don't know what to expect from it. Do you have to fix it to the table, does it slide about? I do have a table protector cut to fit the table - the sort with a plastic patterned surface and felt underneath but I don't know if that would do the trick? It would be nice if it did because the boards I have seen are quite expensive. Can anyone advise me? If I am going to buy a board I would like to have it ready for when I want to sew.

Kad

Re: A cutting board?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 15:12:00 PM »
I have a white table protector like the one that you already have and that's been fine for pinning and cutting out on, using scissors not a rotary cutter. I bought the table protector for this purpose and it has the advantage of rolling up for storage as well as protecting the table under a tablecloth on the odd occasion that I use one.
The dining room table has survived lots of cutting out sessions in the past 20 years or so
'Jill' of many aspects of sewing, "Mistress" of few.

SkoutSews

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2018, 16:05:48 PM »