The Sewing Place

Repairing a knit jumper

countrygal

Repairing a knit jumper
« on: December 16, 2018, 20:22:52 PM »
Hi all,

Hope this is the right board to put this on. I've been doing some wardrobe care and a favourite jumper of mine like this one on the right from mama and me's page has got a small hole in the arm and the wool has come lose. Does anyone know how to fix this as I've never worked with knitted things before and I don't want to just throw it out. Any advice or tips will be so much appreciated!
Thanks in advance  <3

BrendaP

Re: Repairing a knit jumper
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2018, 20:29:51 PM »
A photo would help.  Is it a snag that's broken? an unravelled seam? or has the yarn worn so thin there's nothing left?
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

Greybird

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2018, 22:26:55 PM »
I have repaired very small holes using a needle and ordinary sewing thread - working through the back of the knitted stitches and gently pulling them into place as far as possible. You could also try a bit of Bondaweb backed with a small piece of cotton lawn or something similarly lightweight. Neither is a very good solution but you don't have a lot to lose by trying.

Surest1tch

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2018, 23:44:09 PM »
If you could show us a photo of the damage it would help enormously, if you can't and it helps I've repaired knits with a crochet hook just imitating the stitches. It looks similar to blackberry stitch which though a bit fiddly can be done without looking like an obvious repair but you'll need a bit of patience. Good luck

SewRuthieSews

« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2018, 08:10:23 AM »
I don't knit or crochet so those are not really options for me.