The Sewing Place

Baby Quilt by a complete novice?

Starryfish

Baby Quilt by a complete novice?
« on: November 06, 2018, 13:01:21 PM »
My DD is due in June, and I am thinking of making a baby quilt!! I have never made one before, I am tired of knitting baby blankets which I made for my DS's three.

I am contemplating handsewing one, my sewing machine area is setup for dressmaking, and would have to clear space for quilting, also I would like to sew this in the evening in front of the TV.

Is this realistic? Can you experts point me in the direction of help on handsewing one? There was a lady in my WI sewing group who made them but she is sadly sewing things for angels now.

Any suggestions gratefully received.
A day without sewing is a day wasted.

Ploshkin

Re: Baby Quilt by a complete novice?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2018, 14:05:30 PM »
If your machine is set up for dressmaking that shouldn't stop you piecing a quilt by machine - it's only sewing seams on bits of fabric.  It could be difficult to achieve the accuracy needed for piecing if hand sewing.   If you are doing applique rather than piecing then hand sewing would be great (easier than machine IMO)  It's the quilting bit that needs space and can be difficult if your machine doesn't have a big harp or a walking foot and which can be done by hand.  Lowena hand quilts all of her quilts.
There are lots of straightforward baby quilt patterns and Iminei has a tutorial on this forum.
Life's too short for ironing.

maliw

« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2018, 15:05:19 PM »